India wins fourth test, clinches series 2 to 1 against Australia

MUMBAI: India created history at Brisbane by beating Australia by three wickets in fourth and final test in Brisbane and clinched the series with 2 to 1 against Australia and retained the Border-Gavaskar trophy.

From a dismal all out for 36 in the first test of the series played at Adelaide to clinching the series India created history of sorts as, Australia are beaten at the The Brisbane Cricket Ground, commonly known as the Gabba, for the first time in more than three decades.

At the deciding fourth test at Brisbane India were bowled out at 336 in their first innings, giving Australia a lead of 33 runs. In the second innings Australia were bowled out for 294 setting a target of 328 runs for India to win. India successfully chased the target with 3 overs to go and finished at 7/329, winning by 3 wickets and the series.

After a disappointing start to the 5th day, losing Rohit Sharma at a dismal 7 runs (bowled by Pat Cummins, caught by Tim Paine) it was left to the second order of Shuhman Gill and Cheteshwar Pujara who held the fort for an impressive 114 run partnership. 

Coming in latter, playing one of his best knocks, Rishabh Pant hit a stunning 89 and remained not out, while Gill hit an amazing 91 and Pujara backed up with a solid 56.

Australia had not been beaten at the Gabba since November 1988 when it fell to Viv Richard led West Indies side by nine wickets.

Indian fans were ecstatic on victory as they took to social media like Twitter to post their congratulatory messages. Along with them, Prime Minister Narendra Modi also Twitted and congratulated the Indian cricket team. He tweeted, "We are all overjoyed at the success of the Indian Cricket Team in Australia. Their remarkable energy and passion was visible throughout. So was their stellar intent, remarkable grit and determination. Congratulations to the team! Best wishes for your future endeavours."


  • Prashant Sarkar
    Prashant Sarkar

Related News